Management Entrance XLRI - Xavier School of Management, Jamshedpur, on behalf of XAMI

Xavier Aptitude Test (XAT) 2027

Fact-checked & updated on Oct 9, 2026 by IndCareer Exam Team
XAT 2027 Registration Open
Exam Lifecycle Tracker Current: registration
Registration
In Progress
Admit Card
Upcoming
Exam Day
Upcoming
Answer Key
Upcoming
Result
Upcoming
Counseling
Upcoming

Explore XAT Sections

Instant Alert Official Updates

🔔 Get Instant XAT 2026 Alerts on WhatsApp

Never miss Admit Card release, Answer Key drops, or Result announcements.

🇮🇳 +91
🔒 No spam. Instant official notifications only. 100% free.

Important Dates

Official schedule & timeline

7 events
XAT 2026 examination (historical) Completed
4 January 2026
XAT 2027 registration opens Completed
15 July 2026
XAT 2027 registration closes Upcoming
6 December 2026
XAT 2027 admit card (tentative) Upcoming
20 December 2026 (tentative)
XAT 2027 examination Upcoming
3 January 2027, 2:00 pm-5:00 pm
XAT 2027 answer key and response sheet Upcoming
To be announced
XAT 2027 result Upcoming
To be announced
Detailed Guide

About Xavier Aptitude Test (XAT) 2027

The Xavier Aptitude Test (XAT) is a national-level management entrance examination conducted by XLRI - Xavier School of Management, Jamshedpur, on behalf of the Xavier Association of Management Institutes (XAMI). XAT scores are accepted by more than 250 business schools for MBA, PGDM and related management programmes. Its distinctive assessment includes decision-making alongside verbal, quantitative and general-knowledge sections.

2027 cycle status: The official XAT website showed registration open and listed the test for 3 January 2027, 2:00 pm to 5:00 pm, when checked on 9 October 2026. Dates marked tentative or not announced below must be reconfirmed on the official portal. The previous XAT 2026 examination was held on 4 January 2026; that date is historical, not an upcoming event.

Exam detailXAT 2027 information
Full nameXavier Aptitude Test
Conducting bodyXLRI - Xavier School of Management, Jamshedpur, for XAMI
Exam type and useNational management entrance test; scores are used by XLRI and 250+ participating/associate business schools under each institution's admission rules
Official exam websitexatonline.in
Registration portalapplications.xatonline.in
RegistrationOpen; the official site lists 15 July 2026 to 6 December 2026
Admit card20 December 2026 (tentative on the official schedule)
ExaminationSunday, 3 January 2027, 2:00 pm-5:00 pm
Centres100+ Indian test cities; use the current application portal for the selectable city list and availability
EligibilityA recognised bachelor's degree of at least three years is the standard qualifying degree; final-year candidates may apply subject to completing the degree within the admission rules. Check the current XLRI prospectus and each participating institute's criteria.
Application feeThe public official 2027 schedule does not state a fee amount. Check the payable amount and any programme-specific charge in the official registration portal before payment.
2027 cycle information checked against the official XAT website and registration portal on 9 October 2026. The official application portal is authoritative for live dates, eligibility instructions and charges.

Eligibility

The standard XAT academic requirement is a recognised bachelor's degree of at least three years in any discipline. Final-year graduation students may apply, subject to completing the degree and meeting the deadline in the applicable XLRI admission prospectus. No stream-specific undergraduate subject is required to sit XAT. A participating school may set its own degree, work-experience or programme-specific conditions, so qualifying to take XAT does not guarantee eligibility for every MBA/PGDM programme. The official 2027 application FAQ advises final-year applicants to enter aggregate marks earned up to the latest completed semester/year. Confirm current-cycle requirements in the XLRI 2027 prospectus and the relevant institution's notice.

Application fee

The official public XAT 2027 schedule and registration landing page reviewed on 9 October 2026 did not display a fee amount. Fees can depend on the selected application or programme options. Review the live total on the official registration portal before paying; do not rely on older-cycle or third-party fee figures. Keep the payment confirmation and application printout.

Exam pattern and marking

The official XAT 2027 homepage describes a computer-based, single-slot examination from 2:00 pm to 5:00 pm. Its overview lists 95 multiple-choice questions: 75 questions across the three percentile-contributing Part 1 sections, followed by 20 General Knowledge questions in Part 2. Part 1 has a shared 170-minute allowance; General Knowledge has 10 minutes. The official site says there is no sectional time limit in Part 1 and candidates can switch sections. The public 2027 pattern page does not specify marks per answer or a negative-marking rule; verify those instructions in the current candidate notice rather than assuming a previous year's scoring scheme.

SectionQuestions (approx.)TimeUse in score
Verbal Ability and Logical Reasoning (VALR)26170 minutes combined for Part 1Contributes to XAT percentile
Decision Making (DM)21
Quantitative Aptitude and Data Interpretation (QA & DI)28
General Knowledge (GK)20 (8 static GK; 12 current affairs)10 minutesNon-percentile section; may be considered by institutes during selection
Total95180 minutes (3 hours)Part 1 percentile plus GK for institute selection where applicable
Question counts and section timings reflect the official XAT 2027 homepage checked on 9 October 2026. The current candidate instructions take precedence if anything changes.

Important dates

The official 2027 page lists registration from 15 July through 6 December 2026, an admit-card date of 20 December (tentative), and the examination on 3 January 2027. It does not yet confirm a 2027 answer-key or result date. The XAT 2026 test date, 4 January 2026, is included only as cycle history.

Historical IndCareer routes are redirected to the corresponding module pages, including /en/xat/, /en/xat-syllabus/, /en/xat-question-paper/, /en/xat-admit-card/, /en/xat-answer-key/, /en/xat-result/, /en/xat-cut-off/ and /en/xat-application-form/.

Sources: official XAT 2027 website and pattern, official registration portal, official application FAQ and XLRI 2027 prospectus.

Instant Alert Official Updates

🔔 Get Instant XAT 2026 Alerts on WhatsApp

Never miss Admit Card release, Answer Key drops, or Result announcements.

🇮🇳 +91
🔒 No spam. Instant official notifications only. 100% free.

Frequently Asked Questions

Get answers to common queries regarding XAT

Q1What sections are in the XAT 2027 syllabus?
The official overview lists VALR, Decision Making, Quantitative Aptitude and Data Interpretation, and General Knowledge.
Q2How many questions are in XAT 2027?
The official homepage lists approximately 95 MCQs: 26 VALR, 21 Decision Making, 28 QA-DI and 20 GK.
Q3Has XLRI published the exact 2027 marking scheme?
The public 2027 pattern page does not state per-answer marks or a negative-marking rule. Check the current candidate instructions for authoritative scoring details.
Q4Where can I download official XAT question papers?
Use the Exam Resources links on the official XAT website. Its public archive includes papers from 2018 through 2024; check the portal for additions.
Q5Do previous XAT papers exactly match the 2027 pattern?
No. Question mix, timing and instructions can change by cycle. The official 2027 overview lists 95 questions, with 170 minutes for Part 1 and 10 minutes for GK.
Q6Are memory-based XAT papers official?
No. Treat a memory-based or coaching-centre paper as unofficial unless it is published by XLRI on the official XAT website.
Q7When will the XAT 2027 admit card be available?
The official homepage tentatively lists 20 December 2026. Check the candidate portal for the confirmed release and download link.
Q8What should I do if my admit-card details are incorrect?
Contact the official XAT help channel immediately using the current portal instructions and keep the application number and supporting evidence available.
Q9Which documents should I take to the XAT centre?
Carry the admit card and an original photo ID accepted by the current official instructions. Verify any additional document and item restrictions in the candidate notice.
Q10Has the XAT 2027 answer key been released?
No answer-key or response-sheet release date was listed on the official public site as of 9 October 2026. Check the official portal for future notices.
Q11How can I challenge an XAT answer?
Use only the official objection process if XLRI announces one. Follow its question-ID, evidence, fee and deadline requirements.
Q12Is a coaching-centre answer key official?
No. Only material published by XLRI through the official XAT website or candidate portal is an official key.
Q13When will the XAT 2027 result be declared?
The public official XAT page had not announced a result date as of 9 October 2026. Follow xatonline.in for the confirmed notice.
Q14Does qualifying in XAT guarantee admission to XLRI?
No. Each programme has its own eligibility, shortlist criteria and later selection stages. Meeting an entrance benchmark is not an admission offer.
Q15How long is the XAT 2027 score valid?
Use the score only for the admission cycle specified by XLRI and each accepting institution. Check their current notices for the applicable year.
Q16Has XLRI announced the XAT 2027 cutoff?
No. The official 2027 cutoff was not published as of 9 October 2026. Check the admission notices published by XLRI and each target school.
Q17Does XAT have one cutoff for every MBA programme?
No. Cutoffs and shortlist rules can vary by institution, programme and required section.
Q18Can I use the XAT 2026 cutoff as the 2027 qualifying mark?
No. Historical thresholds are context only; applicant pools and admission rules change. Wait for the official 2027 programme-specific notice.