Law Entrance Consortium of National Law Universities (NLUs)

CLAT PG (Common Law Admission Test for Postgraduate)

Fact-checked & updated on Oct 9, 2026 by IndCareer Exam Team
Applications Open; closes 31 October 2026
Exam Lifecycle Tracker Current: registration
Registration
In Progress
Admit Card
Upcoming
Exam Day
Upcoming
Answer Key
Upcoming
Result
Upcoming
Counseling
Upcoming

Explore CLAT PG Sections

Instant Alert Official Updates

🔔 Get Instant CLAT PG 2026 Alerts on WhatsApp

Never miss Admit Card release, Answer Key drops, or Result announcements.

🇮🇳 +91
🔒 No spam. Instant official notifications only. 100% free.

Important Dates

Official schedule & timeline

3 events
CLAT PG 2027 applications opened Completed
03 August 2026
CLAT PG 2027 last date for receiving applications Active
31 October 2026
CLAT PG 2027 examination Upcoming
06 December 2026
Detailed Guide

About CLAT PG (Common Law Admission Test for Postgraduate)

CLAT PG (Common Law Admission Test for Postgraduate) is the national-level entrance examination for admission to postgraduate law programmes, including one-year LL.M. courses, at participating National Law Universities. It is conducted by the Consortium of National Law Universities (NLUs). CLAT PG 2027 is for admissions commencing in the 2027-2028 academic year. The Consortium's current portal lists applications as open, the last date to apply as 31 October 2026, and the examination on 6 December 2026.

This page is specific to the postgraduate test. The Consortium also conducts a separate undergraduate CLAT paper; its UG sections and pattern are not part of the CLAT PG syllabus. Historical IndCareer records include CLAT LL.M. question-paper pages from 2008 to 2018. Those years are retained as legacy URL redirects and are provided for historical reference only; use the current official 2027 format when preparing.

Exam detailCLAT PG 2027 information
Full nameCLAT PG (Common Law Admission Test for Postgraduate)
Conducting bodyConsortium of National Law Universities (NLUs)
Admission levelPostgraduate law; LL.M. programmes at participating NLUs
Academic intake2027-2028
Official portalCLAT 2027 - Consortium of NLUs
Application periodOpened 3 August 2026; last date listed as 31 October 2026
Exam date6 December 2026
Duration and marks2 hours; 120 objective questions; maximum 120 marks
Marking+1 for a correct answer; -0.25 for an incorrect answer
Question coverageConstitutional Law and other core undergraduate law subjects; passage-based comprehension and application
Application feeCheck the live CLAT 2027 candidate portal for the amount applicable to the candidate's category and any optional services before payment
CLAT PG 2027 dates and paper format checked against the official Consortium of NLUs pages on 9 October 2026. Portal instructions and notices take precedence if updated.

CLAT PG 2027 eligibility

  • Qualifying degree: A candidate must have passed an LL.B. degree or an equivalent examination.
  • Minimum marks: At least 50% or equivalent grade; at least 45% or equivalent grade for candidates belonging to SC, ST or PwD categories.
  • Appearing candidates: Candidates taking their qualifying examination in 2027 may apply. They must produce evidence of passing at admission or lose eligibility for admission.
  • Age limit: The Consortium states there is no upper age limit for the PG programme.
  • Reservation and documentation: Category eligibility, certificates and any NLU-specific admission conditions must be checked in the current brochure and with the university concerned.

Application fee and registration

Applications are submitted through the official CLAT 2027 portal. The publicly accessible official pages checked for this update did not state a current category-wise fee amount, so this guide does not repeat historical fee figures. Sign in to the candidate portal and verify the amount, payment methods, any optional previous-paper purchase, and the non-refundable or other payment conditions shown before submitting payment. Save the application and payment confirmation.

CLAT PG 2027 exam pattern

ComponentOfficial format
Duration2 hours (120 minutes)
Objective questions120 multiple-choice questions, one mark each
Maximum marks120
Correct response+1 mark
Incorrect response-0.25 mark
Unanswered questionNo deduction is specified for an unanswered question
Question styleExtracts from primary legal materials, including judgments, statutes or regulations, followed by comprehension and application questions
The 2027 PG paper format is distinct from CLAT UG. Consult the official instructions and admit card for test-day arrangements.

Subjects and skills tested

The official PG syllabus centres on Constitutional Law and other subjects taught in an undergraduate law programme: Jurisprudence, Administrative Law, Law of Contract, Torts, Family Law, Criminal Law, Property Law, Company Law, Public International Law, Tax Law, Environmental Law, and Labour and Industrial Law. Passages are drawn from primary legal materials. Candidates need to understand the passage and its arguments, identify related legal issues and facts, summarise the text, and apply knowledge of the relevant field. The official format does not publish a fixed question quota by subject.

CLAT PG 2027 important dates

The Consortium portal currently lists applications opening on 3 August 2026, the last date for receiving applications as 31 October 2026, and the examination on 6 December 2026. Admit-card, answer-key, result and counselling schedules should be treated as unannounced until published in an official notice.

Official sources: CLAT 2027 portal, PG eligibility, PG syllabus, and PG question format.

Instant Alert Official Updates

🔔 Get Instant CLAT PG 2026 Alerts on WhatsApp

Never miss Admit Card release, Answer Key drops, or Result announcements.

🇮🇳 +91
🔒 No spam. Instant official notifications only. 100% free.

Frequently Asked Questions

Get answers to common queries regarding CLAT PG

Q1Which subjects are included in the CLAT PG 2027 syllabus?
The official list includes Constitutional Law, Jurisprudence, Administrative Law, Contract, Torts, Family Law, Criminal Law, Property, Company Law, Public International Law, Tax, Environmental, and Labour and Industrial Law.
Q2Does CLAT PG have a fixed number of questions from each law subject?
The Consortium publishes the overall 120-question format and subject areas, but does not state a fixed subject-wise question quota on the official PG format page.
Q3Are CLAT PG questions passage-based?
Yes. The official syllabus describes extracts from primary legal materials followed by questions assessing comprehension, awareness of related legal issues, summarising and application of legal knowledge.
Q4Where can I download official CLAT PG previous year papers?
Check the Consortium of NLUs website and your CLAT candidate account for official question papers, sample material and keys. Verify the year and PG label before downloading.
Q5How many questions are in the CLAT PG 2027 paper?
The official format states 120 objective questions of one mark each, to be completed in two hours, with 0.25 mark deducted for each wrong answer.
Q6Are older CLAT LL.M. papers identical in format to CLAT PG 2027?
No. Past papers are useful for practice, but formats and syllabi can change. The Consortium's published CLAT PG 2027 format should guide preparation.
Q7When will the CLAT PG 2027 admit card be released?
The official portal dates reviewed list the application window and exam date, but do not announce an admit-card release date. Follow Consortium notifications and your candidate login.
Q8Where can I download my CLAT PG admit card?
Download it from the official CLAT 2027 candidate portal after signing in when the Consortium publishes the hall ticket.
Q9What should I carry to the CLAT PG exam centre?
Carry the printed admit card and the original photo ID specified in the official instructions. Bring additional accommodation documents only when required by your approved arrangements or admit-card notice.
Q10When will CLAT PG 2027 provisional answers be published?
The Consortium has not announced the 2027 key schedule in the dates checked. Watch the official portal and candidate account after the examination.
Q11Can I challenge an answer in the CLAT PG key?
If the Consortium opens an objection window, submit the challenge through the prescribed candidate portal, with evidence and within the stated deadline and fee conditions.
Q12Which answer key is used for the CLAT PG result?
The Consortium's final answer key, when published, is the official reference for processing the result.
Q13Where can I download the CLAT PG 2027 scorecard?
Use the result or scorecard link in the official CLAT 2027 candidate portal after the Consortium declares the result.
Q14Does qualifying CLAT PG guarantee an LL.M. seat?
No. Admission depends on rank, category and applicable reservation, preferences, seat availability, document checks and each NLU's counselling rules.
Q15How long is the CLAT PG 2027 result valid?
CLAT 2027 is for admissions to the 2027-2028 academic year. Check the Consortium's current rules for any specific score-use or validity provision.
Q16Is there one CLAT PG cutoff for all National Law Universities?
No. Actual admission closing ranks differ by NLU, seat availability, category, preferences and counselling round. Check official allotment notices.
Q17Are the 50% and 45% marks the CLAT PG score cutoff?
No. These are minimum LL.B. qualifying-degree marks for eligibility: 50% generally and 45% for SC, ST and PwD candidates. They are not entrance-test cutoff marks.
Q18Where can I check category-wise CLAT PG cutoff trends?
Use official NLU or Consortium merit and seat-allotment notices, comparing the same university, programme, category and counselling round.